## **Awards**

## ACM/SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award

The ACM/SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award is an annual award for excellence in research in the area of autonomous agents. The award is intended to recognize researchers in autonomous agents whose current work is an important influence on the field. The award is an official ACM award, funded by an endowment created by ACM SIGAI from the proceeds of previous Autonomous Agents conferences. Prior to 2014, it was known as the ACM/SIGART Autonomous Agents Award. Candidates for the award are nominated through an open nomination process. Previous winners of the award were Carles Sierra (2019), Craig Boutilier (2018), David Parkes (2017), Peter Stone (2016), Catherine Pelachaud (2015), Michael Wellman (2014), Jeffrey S. Rosenschein (2013), Moshe Tennenholtz (2012), Joe Halpern (2011), Jonathan Gratch and Stacy Marsella (2010), Manuela Veloso (2009), Yoav Shoham (2008), Sarit Kraus (2007), Michael Wooldridge (2006), Milind Tambe (2005), Makoto Yokoo (2004), Nick Jennings (2003), Katia Sycara (2002), and Tuomas Sandholm (2001). The selection committee for the ACM/SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award is pleased to announce that Professor Muninder P. Singh is the recipient of the 2020 award. Dr. Munindar P. Singh is Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor in the Department of Computer Science at North Carolina State University, USA. This award acknowledges his extensive contributions to our understanding of social interaction and autonomy in Artificial Intelligence through his seminal work on interaction protocols, norms, and trust in multiagent systems. This work pioneered new approaches to thinking about sociotechnical systems in a formal and verifiable manner. The broad impact of the work has extended far beyond the agent community to encompass concerns in service-oriented computing, software engineering, and distributed computing. In addition, Professor Singh has served the autonomous agents research community in a variety of roles, including as general chair of AAMAS 2005, a charter member of the editorial board of JAAMAS, and an IFAAMAS Board member.

## **AAMAS Victor Lesser Distinguished Dissertation Award**

This award was started for dissertations defended in 2006 and is named for Professor Victor Lesser, a long standing member of the AAMAS community who has graduated a large number of outstanding PhD students in the area. To be eligible for the 2019 award, presented at AAMAS 2020, a dissertation had to have been written as part of a PhD defended during the year 2019, and had to be nominated by the supervisor with three supporting references. Selection is based on originality, depth, impact and written quality, supported by quality publications. Previous winners of this award were Fernando P. Santos (2018), Ariel Rosenfeld (2017), Nisarg Shah (2016), Amos Azaria (2015), Yair Zick (2014), Manish Jain (2013), Birgit Endrass (2012), Daniel Villatoro (2011), Bo An (2010), Andrew Gilpin (2009), Ariel Procaccia (2008), Radu Jurca (2007), and Vincent Conitzer (2006). The 2019 IFAAMAS Victor Lesser Distinguished Dissertation Award recipient is Dr. Dominik Peters, whose thesis entitled 'Fair Division of the Commons' was supervised by Prof. Edith Elkind.

## **IFAAMAS Influential Paper Award**

The International Foundation for Autonomous Agents and Multi-Agent Systems set up an influential paper award in 2006 to recognize publications that have made seminal contributions to the field. Such papers represent the best and most influential work in the area of autonomous

agents and multi-agent systems. These papers might, therefore, have proved a key result, led to the development of a new sub-field, demonstrated a significant new application or system, or simply presented a new way of thinking about a topic that has proved influential. The award is open to any paper that was published at least 10 years before the award is made. The paper can have been published in any journal, conference, or workshop. The award is sponsored by the Agent Theories, Architectures and Languages foundation.

The 2020 IFAAMAS Influential Paper Award winners are:

Ariel D. Procaccia and Moshe Tennenholtz. Approximate Mechanism Design without Money. In *Proceedings of the 10th ACM Conference on Electronic Commerce*, pp. 177-186, 2009.

Kurt M. Dresner and Peter Stone. A Multiagent Approach to Autonomous Intersection Management. *Journal of Artificial Intelligence Research*, vol 31, pp. 591-656, 2008.