Awards

AUTONOMOUS AGENTS RESEARCH AWARD

The ACM/SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award is an annual award for excellence in research in the area of autonomous agents. The award is intended to recognise researchers in autonomous agents whose current work is an important influence on the field. It is an official ACM award, funded by an endowment created from the proceeds of the Autonomous Agents conferences.

Recipient: The selection committee for the ACM/SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award is pleased to announce that Professor Shlomo Zilberstein is the recipient of the 2025 award.

Citation: Professor Shlomo Zilberstein is a full professor of Computer Science at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Prof Zilberstein's work established the field of decentralized Markov Decision Processes (DEC-MDPs), laying the groundwork for decision-theoretic planning in multiagent systems and multiagent reinforcement learning (MARL). These contributions have become a cornerstone of multiagent decision-making, influencing researchers and practitioners alike. Prof. Zilberstein is a Fellow of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) and received the IFAAMAS Influential Paper Award (2019) as well as the AAAI Distinguished Service Award (2019), among many other awards.

INFLUENTIAL PAPER AWARD

The *IFAAMAS Influential Paper Award* seeks to recognise publications that have made influential and long-lasting contributions to the field. Candidates for this award are papers that have proved a key result, led to the development of a new subfield, demonstrated a significant new application or system, or simply presented a new way of thinking about a topic that has proved influential.

This year's award committee selected the following paper to be recognized with an IFAAMAS Influential Paper Award:

Paper: Reynolds, Craig W. Flocks, Herds and Schools: A Distributed Behavioral Model. *Proceedings of the 14th Annual Conference on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques*, pp. 25–34, 1987.

Citation: The selected paper introduced a seminal model of collective motion that has inspired a generation of multiagent systems researchers. A generative procedural model for flock animation, a simulation platform for testing theories about real animals, and a compelling example of emergence from simple rules, it took the approach of modeling a flock as a collection of individual autonomous agents, each perceiving their local environment and computing a motor signal to steer their path, with global flock motion emerging from interactions amongst the agents. In the 37 years since its publication, the paper has received over 15,000 citations on Google Scholar, impacting numerous disciplines, including our own.

DISTINGUISHED DISSERTATION AWARD

The Victor Lesser Distinguished Dissertation Award is given for dissertations in the field of autonomous agents and multiagent systems that show originality, depth, impact, as well as quality of writing, supported by high-quality publications.

The recipient of the 2024 IFAAMAS Victor Lesser Distinguished Dissertation Award is Dr. Jannik Peters, whose thesis entitled "Facets of Proportionality Selecting Committees, Budgets, and Clusters" was supervised by Prof. Markus Brill at TU Berlin.

The selection committee also wishes to recognize Dr. Lily Xu as a runner-up for her thesis "High-stakes decisions from low-quality data: AI decision-making for planetary health" supervised by Prof. Milind Tambe at Harvard University.

BEST PAPER AWARDS

Among the many excellent submissions received, the conference will honor three of the full papers in the main track with awards: one with the *Best Paper Award* (for which all papers are eligible), and two with the *Pragnesh Jay Modi Best Student Paper Award* (for papers with a principal author who is a student).

The winner of the Best Paper Award is:

 Marc Lanctot, Kate Larson, Michael Kaisers, Quentin Berthet, Ian Gemp, Manfred Diaz, Roberto-Rafael Maura-Rivero, Yoram Bachrach, Anna Koop, Doina Precup. Soft Condorcet Optimization for Ranking of General Agents.

The two papers listed below are the winners of the *Pragnesh Jay Modi Best Student Paper Award*:

- Francesco Pontiggia, Filip Macák, Roman Andriushchenko, Michele Chiari, Milan Ceska. Decentralized Planning Using Probabilistic Hyperproperties.
- Parisa Ghanad Torshizi, Laura B. Hensel, Ari Shapiro, Stacy Marsella. Large Language Models for Virtual Human Gesture Selection.

In addition, we recognize the following paper as a runner-up for the *Best Student Paper Award*:

Xinghai Wei, Tingting Yuan, Jie Yuan, Dongxiao Liu, Xiaoming Fu. ReSCOM: Reward-Shaped Curriculum for Efficient Multi-Agent Communication Learning.

The Pragnesh Jay Modi Best Student Paper Award is generously supported by Springer.

BLUE SKY IDEAS AWARD

The focus of the Blue Sky Ideas track is on visionary ideas, long-term challenges, new research opportunities, and controversial debate. It serves as an incubator for innovative, risky, and provocative ideas, and it aims at providing a forum for publishing and presenting such ideas without being constrained by the results-oriented standards followed in the main track of the conference.

At the conference, one of the papers submitted to this special track will receive the *Blue Sky Ideas Award*.

The Blue Sky Ideas track is generously supported by the Computing Community Consortium (CCC).

BEST DEMO AWARD

The *Best Demo Award* will be bestowed upon the authors of the most applicable and innovative contribution to the Demonstration track. The winner will be announced during the conference banquet.